On Being a “Good” Person

Hmmm…. just just just had several conversations about “goodness” and being a “good person as being enough” with several people separately.

I feel “good” is subjective.  Everyone always tries to be good, overall, but, depending on how one is being and how much one is doing at any given moment, and who we feel the example/leader is of “goodness,” what we have in terms of goodness within us can feel and demonstrate differently day to day.  So, while good is great to aspire to be, it in and of itself is relative to the unique experience and point of view at the moment.  

Only faith, Hope and Love are the constant markers that reassure me how much goodness I am experiencing and, therefore, hopefully, putting out there.  Without them, I can be as good as I want and still definitely hurt or disappoint others, especially myself or those whom I love, even without any intention of doing so.  

So, in other words, good seems overrated and is an insufficient stand alone, so I try not to put much thought into that.  I am better off focusing on being loving and just how Loved I am which, by my Hero, is quite a lot and is nothing I have to try for or to be, thankfully, just is.

If this doesn’t make any sense, forgive me, as I feel awake but it is hardly 5am…

Leave a comment